Spectacular Grand Prix Winners of Previous Competitions!

Share on

The International Tchaikovsky Competition Grand Prix Winners

While this year's gifted young musicians have already started to perform and compete at the best venues in Moscow and St. Petersburg - let's take a look at virtuosos who not only earned awards and admiration during the previous competitions, but also received the prestigious Grand Prix. Just three such prizes were given to participants in the whole history of the competition.

Ariunbaatar Ganbaatar

The brilliant baritone from Mongolia won the Grand Prix at the last International Tchaikovsky Competition in 2015. Since then the opera star has seen a lot of success and performed at the best stages all over the world.

Daniil Trifonov

Daniil Trifonov is a Russian pianist who won the Grand Prix at The International Tchaikovsky Competition in 2011 and achieved international recognition. Described by The Times as "without question the most astounding pianist of our age," his latest achievements include a Grammy Award win in 2018 and Gramophone Classical Music Awards' Artist of the Year Award in 2016.

Hibla Gerzmava

Hibla Gerzmava is an Abkhazian-Russian operatic soprano who became the first ever Grand Prix winner at The International Tchaikovsky Competition in 1994. Since then she became an admired opera singer both in Russia and abroad winning the audience with her magnificent voice and presence.